Have you forgotten the basics?

Sarah Weiler
2 min readOct 31, 2022

I don’t know about you, but I forget every single time.

That when I’m feeling existential dread eg.

‘what am I doing with my life?’
‘I should change everything’
‘I’ve achieved nothing’

More often than not I need…

1. A healthy meal
2. A good night’s sleep
3. Exercise in nature
4. IRL human connection

I do not ever believe that it is this simple.
I am horrified at the suggestion that these basic things will make me feel any different.
I am sure that I need to move countries, overhaul my career and take up skateboarding before I do I healthy food shop or get off my phone before 10pm.

And yet, it often is that simple.

When we are fuelled, rested, watered and connected. When we’ve moved our bodies and got into nature. Things DO feel brighter. We are not worrying about the past or the future as much. We feel calmer and happier.

Yesterday I sat on my sofa in tears, unexpectedly distraught about my life and where I was at. I couldn’t see any positives. But I’d also had a big weekend of late nights, not eating proper meals and being in my flat a…

--

--

Sarah Weiler

I’m a multi-passionate TEDx speaker, writer, coach, framework-fanatic, quitting researcher & ukulelista/composer. www.sarahweiler.com // tinyletter.com/Carousel